College profile

The School of Cyber Security (SCS) at Shanghai Jiao Tong University, formerly known as the School of Information Security Engineering and renamed as the School of Cyber Security in December 2016, was jointly founded in October 2000 by the Ministry of Education (MOE), the Min istry of Science and Technology (MOST) of the People's Republic of China, Shan ghai Municipal Government and Shanghai Jiao Tong University. It was the count ry’s first university department that serves as a national talents training bas e in the field of information security. The school provides diverse training p rograms including undergraduate, postgraduate and doctorate programs in three primary disciplines: cyber security, communication and information s y s t e m (information security) and computer application technology (information security).

Following the direction of open collaboration and internationalism, SCS has devoted itself to the fostering of technical experts and business leaders with high impact in both academia and industry. The school is achieving new heights through research and educational leadership in both fundamental theory and advanced application technologies in information security. The school has formed a unique s y s t e m for disciplinary construction and student education, and has established collaborations with a number of renowned domestic and overseas universities and enterprises. As the talents training base of the national 863 program, one of the first batch of national talents training bases in cyber security discipline, and one of the first institutions authorized to offer doctorate degree in cyber security discipline, SCS has played an important role in improving national core competitiveness and industrialization of the information security industry by supplying the technical and management talents urgently r e q u i r ed in this field.

SCS has over 30 fulltime professors and associate professors and over 20 adjunct professors, and has formed a research team of more than 60 faculty members and over 200 post graduate students. The school faculty i n c l u d es 2 members of Chinese Academy of Sciences/Engineering (adjunct professors), 1 New Century National Hundred-Thousand-Ten-Thousand Talent, 3 New Century Excellent Talents in University, Ministry of Education, 3 Shanghai Subject Chief Scientists, 1 Shanghai Pujiang Scholar, and 3 Shanghai Science and Technology Committee Rising-Star scholars. Since its establishment, SCS has completed over 300 important research projects supported by National Key R&D Plan (Cyber Security Program), the State Information Security Application Demonstration Project (S219),  National Key Technology R&D Programs, National Basic Research Program of China (973 Programs), National High Technology R&D Programs of China (863 Programs), Information Security Program of National Development and Reform Commission, National Natural Science Foundation of China, China-France International cooperation and exchange program, and projects sponsored by the National Defense Pre-Research Foundation of China. The school has achieved a number of important research results and has won 1 Second Class Prize of the National Science and Technology Progress Award; 4 First Class Prizes, 5 Second Class Prizes, and 4 Third Class Prizes of the provincial and ministerial level Science and Technology Progress Award. The school has obtained over 80 authorized patents and has actively participated in a series of important national information security standardization and regulation formulation activities.

The school is home to several important R&D laboratories: The National Engineering Laboratory for Information Content Analysis Technology; Engineering Research Center of Network Information Security Management and Service, Ministry of Education; Shanghai Key Laboratory of Integrated Administration Technologies for Information Security; SJTU Laboratory for Information Security Technology Service; and Joint Research Laboratory on Security and Trust Between Telecom ParisTech and Shanghai Jiao Tong University.